About SCTE


A brief highlight

State Council for Technical Education, Nagaland, came into being in 1985. The Council was set up with the broad objective to advise the State Government in all matters relating to Technical Education in the State.The State Council for Technical Education (SCTE) was constituted as per the guidelines of All India Council for Technical Education(AICTE) and has been empowered by the State Government to conduct Examinations and issue certificates for various Technical Programmes within the State.Its members are drawn from various organizations/departments such as: All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), Nagaland University (NU), Nagaland Board of School Education (NBSE), Departments of Industries & Commerce, Work & Housing, Power, Mechanical, Technical Education and Higher Education etc.

The first polytechnic in Nagaland  Nagaland Polytechnic, later renamed as Khelhoshe Polytechnic Atoizu (KPA)  was established in 1972. Since Nagaland state did not have a state council or Board for technical education during those years, the Polytechnic (KPA) was under the Assam Board of Technical Education (up till 1985). The lone State-run Polytechnic came under SCTE, Nagaland, in 1986.

The State Council for Technical Education, being the nodal body for monitoring and certification of various training institutes mushrooming in the State, has initiated various measures in providing quality training by various institutes, such as continuous supervision, curricula review and designing guidelines from time to time during the year.Besides conducting examinations in the polytechnics and award diploma certificates to polytechnics pass-outs, the State Council for Technical Education is also conducting Joint Entrance Examination for diploma programs/courses in State-run Polytechnics.

Skip to content